Feng Shui Bagua Area for Home or Office


Feng shui Bagua (also called ba-gua or pakua) is one of the main tools used in feng shui to analyze any given space’s energy, be it home, office, or garden. Bagua is the energy map of your space that shows you which areas of your home or office are connected to specific areas of your life.

Translated from Chinese, Bagua literally means “8 areas.” These areas correspond to the most important areas of one’s life, the areas that matter the most for one’s health and happiness.

The ancient feng shui masters defined as the most important areas follow as:

  • Health and family
  • Wealth and abundance
  • Fame and reputation
  • Love and marriage
  • Creativity and children
  • Helpful people and blessings
  • Career and path in life
  • Spiritual growth and cultivation
Bagua Schools

It is important to understand that there are two different ways, or feng shui school styles define the Bagua of any space. There is the Classical or Traditional feng shui school Bagua. And then, there is the BTB, or Western feng shui school Bagua.

It is best not to apply both styles simultaneously, as this will create a lot of confusion and frustration in defining your Bagua. Choose one Bagua style—the one that appeals to you the most—and stick with it in your feng shui work.

Classical vs. BTB Bagua

Let’s look at the basics of the Classical feng shui school Bagua. This Bagua style is based on the compass directions’ energy, so you need to take an accurate compass reading of your front door to correctly define the classical Bagua of your home or office.

Compass Reading for Classical Bagua

To define the Classical or Traditional Bagua of your home or office, you will first need to take a compass reading of your front door.

BTB/Western Bagua

If you want to apply to the BTB, also called the Western Bagua, the process is much easier. You need to divide your home’s floor plan (or office) into 9 equal squares, and each square will correspond to one of the 8 areas. The 9th square is called the Yin Yang point or the Heart of the Home, and it energetically relates to all Bagua areas.

Get Ready To Explore Your 8 Bagua Areas

First, you have to decide on your feng shui Bagua style and have defined the Bagua of your home. Then, you can proceed to explore the specific energetic needs of each Bagua area. When you treat each Bagua area of your home well, the whole house benefits from harmonious and vibrant energy.